top of page
Search
  • taneill

TCH 130: Prompt Seven: YA Development In the Classroom


One thing that I truly didn't know and found extremely fascinating was how at this age young adolescent's tail bones are still developing and that is why they seem to never be able to sit still or are constantly in discomfort. I remember being younger and was constantly being told to sit still but it really makes sense now. I think that is has really opened my eyes to the importance of what the students sit in everyday and that it should be comfortable. Also that I need to be understanding if it seems like the entire class is being restless. They really cannot help it!

Also something that I thought was fascinating while reading was the time frame that students bodies are changing and how much of an impact on self esteem and mental health this time period can have on someone. For a girl who is quickly developing and gaining weight can be made fun of by other students and same for males if they aren't growing as quickly they could be made fun of for being weak. To me this is a great opportunity to teach about self love and not to bully because someone looks different than you or in this case someone's body is changing differently than yours is. While I knew that changes were happening rapidly for young adolescents I truly did not know the extent of all the changes that were going on.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page